ENG389W - US Interventions in the Caribbean - Currents

The Caribbean produced what is arguably the most vigorous and exciting body of poetry of the twentieth century. In The Oxford Book of Caribbean Verse, Stewart Brown and Mark McWatt have come together to produce the only anthology of Caribbean poetry available that represents all of the Caribbean--not only the English language writers. The book features a range of poets, from Derek Walcott and Edward Braithwaite to Jesus Cos Causse, and from Olive Senior to Una Marson. It covers less acclaimed poets of the 1920s, 30s, and 40s, as well as exciting newer voices from the 80s and 90s. Poetry lovers of any description will find this a rich and satisfying book. The Oxford Book of Caribbean Verse offers a new and original context in which to explore the unique poetry of the Caribbean. This rich and satisfying collection will enchant, entertain, and inform anyone with an interest in the art of poetry.

The Oxford Handbook of Caribbean Archaeology provides an overview of archaeological investigations in the insular Caribbean, understood here as the islands whose shores surround the Caribbean Sea and the islands of the Bahama Archipelago. Though these islands were never isolated from thesurrounding mainland, their histories are sufficiently diverse to warrant their identification as distinct areas of culture. Over the past 20 years, Caribbean archaeology has been transformed from a focus on reconstructing culture histories to one on the mobility and exchange expressed in culturaland social dynamics. This Handbook brings together, for the first time, examples of the best research conducted by scholars from across the globe to address the complexity of the Caribbean past.The Handbook is divided into five sections. Part I, Islands of History and the Precolonial History of the Caribbean Islands, provides an introduction to Caribbean Archaeology and its history. The papers in the following Ethnohistory section address the diversity of cultural practices expressed inthe insular Caribbean and develop historical descriptions in concert with archaeological evidence in order to place language, social organization, and the native Tainos and Island Caribs in perspective. The following section, Culture History, provides the latest research on specific geographicallocations and cross-cultural engagements, from Jamaica and the Bahama archigelago to the Saladoid and the Isthmo-Antillean Engagements. Creating History, the fourth section, includes papers on specific issues related to the field, such as Zooarchaeology, Rock Art, and DNA analysis, among others. Thefinal section, World History, centers on the consequences of European colonization.

The Caribbean is the source of one of the richest, most accessible, and yet technically adventurous traditions of contemporary world literature. This Oxford Book of Caribbean Short Stories is pan-Caribbean, including stories from the four main languages of the region: English, Spanish, French,and Dutch. Stories by major figures in the English language tradition such as V. S. Naipaul, Sam Sevlon, and Jean Rhys are set alongside their Spanish- and French-speaking contemporaries like Alejo Carpentier, Jan Bosh, and Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Their work, in all its diversity of style, theme,and linguistic energy, provides a context for the work of an exciting new generation of Caribbean writers like Edwidge Danticat, Robert Antoni, Astrid Roemer, and Jamaica Kincaid.A celebration of regional creativity, the collection contains sufficient surprises to keep even the most avid student of West Indian writing turning the pages, while reminding readers that the Caribbean is a multilingual, multicultural space.

The Oxford Handbook of Caribbean Constitutions offers a detailed and analytical view of the constitutions of the Caribbean region, examining the constitutional development of its diverse countries. The Handbook explains the features of the region's constitutions and examines themes emergingfrom the Caribbean's experience with constitutional interpretation and reform.Beginning with a Foreword from the former President of the Caribbean Court of Justice and an Introduction by the lead editor, Richard Albert, the remainder of the book is divided into four parts. Part I, "Caribbean Constitutions in the World", highlights what is distinctive about the constitutionsof the Caribbean. Part II covers the constitutions of the Caribbean in detail, offering a rich analysis of the constitutional history, design, controversies, and future challenges in each country or group of countries. Each chapter in this section addresses topics such as the impact of keyhistorical and political events on the constitutional landscape for the jurisdiction, a systematic account of the interaction between the legislature and the executive, the civil service, the electoral system, and the independence of the judiciary.Part III addresses fundamental rights debates and developments in the region, including the death penalty and socio-economic rights. Finally, Part IV features critical reflections on the challenges and prospects for the region, including the work of the Caribbean Court of Justice and the future ofconstitutional reform.This is the first book of its kind, bringing together in a single volume a comprehensive review of the constitutional development of the entire Caribbean region, from the Bahamas in the north to Guyana and Suriname in South America, and all the islands in between. While written in English, the bookembraces the linguistic and cultural diversity of the region, and covers the Anglophone Caribbean as well as the Spanish-, French-, and Dutch-speaking Caribbean countries.