Questions or Concerns?
Getting Started and Quicklinks
Welcome! I am looking forward to supporting you with your research.
Below are some quick links to help you get started with your research and information about the content on this guide. Please get in touch if you have any questions!
- Library SearchSearch here for e-books, print materials, and other resources at the library
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines. Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
- English Literature Research GuideThis is a general overview of the resources available in the subject area of English literature at Emory Libraries.
Do you have more questions? Get in touch with your course librarian, Hannah Griggs, if you have questions or if you'd like to set up an appointment to discuss your research assignment in more detail.
Course-Specific Resources
Resources on foodways, food studies, and Atlanta studies
- Atlanta Daily World Historical This link opens in a new windowAccess Atlanta’s oldest continuously publishing black newspaper and the nation's first successful black daily from 1931-2003. For more recent issues see Newsbank Access World News database. http://pid.emory.edu/rw87b
- Atlanta journal-constitution historical and current This link opens in a new windowThe Atlanta Journal Historical Archive is a full-text searchable database of the Atlanta Journal newspaper. The paper merged with the Atlanta Constitution in 2001 and was subsequently published under the Atlanta Journal Constitution banner.
- Eater AtlantaEater.com's guide to restaurants, eating, and dining in the city of Atlanta
- Food and Drink in History (1514-1980) This link opens in a new windowThe story of food and drink is a unique lens through which to view the history of society, empires, migration, business and trade. The materials in this collection illustrate this deep link between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
- New York Times @ EmoryEmory students, faculty, and staff will have continuous access to the digital version of The New York Times and its online content, including archives and blogs.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. American Literature This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of American literature. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
- ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.