Research Guides: Israel/Palestine in World Politics (Levin): Primary Source Collections

Primary Source Collections

Israel's Foreign Policy: Selected Documents

18 volumes Documents cover 1947-2001 with emphasis on the period 1977-2001.

Israel State Archives is the national archive of Israel, located in Jerusalem. The archive houses some 400 million documents, maps, stamps, audio tapes, video clips, photographs and special publications.

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: The Middle East 1916-2001: Documentary Record

Provides many important documents from various sources pertaining to the history of Israel.

UN Document System on the Question Palestine

The main collection contains the texts of current and historical United Nations material concerning the question of Palestine and other issues related to the Middle East situation and the search for peace. UNISPAL contains the English texts with a growing number in the other official UN languages.

Databases

Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 This link opens in a new window
Users can explore the Arab-Israeli War, Henry Kissinger’s ‘shuttle diplomacy’ and the historic Camp David Accords that followed. The resource also examines internal conflicts, such as the uprising in Dhofar, the military coup in Cyprus, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution. Energy concerns dominate this resource, with reports on the oil policies of Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and Iraq, and how price hikes, embargoes and industrial strikes affected the G8’s energy supply and economy. Additionally, users will be able to scrutinise policies on international arms sales.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window
Access materials from the British Government related to the Middle East from 1820 to 1970.