POLS 334|AFS 334: African Politics

Afrobarometers
http://www.afrobarometer.org/
The Afrobarometers are an ongoing series of surveys conducted amongst countries in sub-Saharan Africa, focusing on topics such as civil society, government, and state-society relations. Data from the Afrobarometers are available from the project site and also via the ICPSR.

Climate Change and African Political Stability (CCAPS)
http://www.strausscenter.org/ccaps/
The CCAPS project, which is hosted by the Strauss Center for International Security and Law at UT-Austin, is devoted to the study of the relationship between climate change and international/internal stability on the African continent. The project has produced various data collections such as the Social Conflict Analysis Database (SCAD), which provides event-level data on riots, coups, strikes, and other instances of social unrest, and the Armed Conflict Location and Event Dataset (ACLED), which provides event-level data on various types of armed conflict.

Quality of Government (QOG) Institute
http://www.qog.pol.gu.se/
The QOG Institute is hosted by members of the Department of Political Science at Göteborg University in Sweden and is devoted to "the causes, consequences and nature of 'good governance.'" The Institute has created four collections of data on governance: a broad collection of governance indicators that is global in coverage; a more narrow collection that focuses on social policy in wealthier countries; data from expert surveys on politicization and professionalization of public administration in individual countries, and a new data collection on perceptions of corruption in individual regions within EU members. The data are compiled from multiple sources, including the Polity Project, the Cingarelli-Richards Human Rights Data, Transparency International, Freedom House, various international organizations, and datasets produced by various academics. The QoG data are available in SPSS, Stata, and comma-delimited (.csv) formats.

World Bank Governance Data
http://www.worldbank.org/en/topic/governance
The World Bank hosts a website devoted to research on governance and institutional quality and their relevance for economic development and performance. As part of its efforts in this area, the Bank collects and distributes data on a variety of aspects of governance and institutional quality. Of particular interest may be the Worldwide Governance Indicators, which score countries in areas such as control of corruption and regulatory quality, and the firm-level surveys such as the Enterprise Surveys. The Bank's GovData360 Portal and GovData Datasets also brings together hundreds of governance-related indicators from multiple data sources and makes them available via tools for downloading and visualization.

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)
http://dhsprogram.com/
The DHS is a project funded by the United States Agency for International Development to promote better gathering of survey data on health issues pertaining to family life and reproductive health in developing countries. Aggregated data from DHS surveys are readily accessible via the STATcompiler interface that allows for on-line visualization and for download in tabular form. Microdata files from the surveys are also available upon registration and application for access. The University of Minnesota's IPUMS project has also produced the IPUMS DHS collection of harmonized extracts of data from DHS surveys.

Education Policy and Data Center
https://www.epdc.org/
The Education Policy and Data Center provides access to education measures and indicators from a range of sources such as administrative records, household surveys, and assessment tests. Users can search for data by country, topic, or level of education.

Gender Equality Data and Statistics
http://datatopics.worldbank.org/gender/
The World Bank's collection of gender-equality data is "a one-stop shop for gender information, catering to a wide range of users and providing data from a variety of sources." Amongst the resources here are collections of macro- and micro-level data on topics such as control of economic assets and financial inclusion and an extensive set of gender-themed indicators that can be downloaded in bulk or queried by country, year, and indicator.

Global Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI)
https://ophi.org.uk/multidimensional-poverty-index/
Oxford University's Oxford Poverty and Human Development Initiative produces the Global Multidimensional Poverty Index, which is "an international measure of acute multidimensional poverty covering over 100 developing countries." The index is constructed from data on nutrition, child mortality, education, and measures of standard of living such as access to drinking water and household assets. County profiles include sub-national breakdowns, and data tables have MPI estimates back to 2010 (varying by country).

Health, Nutrition and Population Data and Statistics
http://datatopics.worldbank.org/health/
HealthStats is "the World Bank’s comprehensive database of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics," covering topics such as reproductive health, population growth, communicable and non-communicable diseases, and health facilities. The data are accessible through various means, such as via an interface that allows for both queries and bulk downloads and via tools to break health data down by household wealth.

Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX)
https://data.humdata.org/
The Humanitarian Data Exchange is a very helpful catalog of data resources that will let you search for or filter resources by combinations of topics and locations and provide information about how the data can be accessed.

World Bank Poverty and Equity Data
http://povertydata.worldbank.org/poverty/home/
The World Bank has brought together a variety of datasets pertaining to the study of poverty, income inequality, and income distribution, along with other resources relevant for international development and economics. The many potentially-useful resources listed within this site include the World Income Inequality Database and PovcalNet. The site is part of the Bank's broader collection of poverty indicators. Other data resources are available via the Bank's "Poverty and Inequality" research program and via the Bank's Data Catalog. Be warned - the World Bank tends to change addresses for websites without warning.

World Population Prospects
https://esa.un.org/unpd/wpp/
This database is produced by the United Nations' Population Division and contains cross-national data on basic population demographics and vital statistics (e.g. birth and death rates, maternal mortality, population by age and gender and urban/rural areas, median age of population). See http://www.un.org/en/development/desa/population/publications/dataset/index.shtml for other data from the Population Division, cover topics such as migration, fertility, marital status, and population policies.