Research Guides: ENGRD 101 Communicating Climate Change / Murray: Find Articles

Databases for Your Class

The following databases are recommended for your class.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines. Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and some full-text journals in areas related to communication and mass media.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database for the environmental sciences. Includes scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Includes the databases: Toxline and Agricola
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952-present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
This research database provides various academic and general publications and information sources related to the environmental impact of individuals, corporations and governments and possible solutions to help minimize the negative impact.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Access material related to environmental studies. Major fields include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, geography, and more.

Types of Databases

The Emory Libraries have a large number of databases that can help you with your research. You can search in two different types of databases.

Multidisciplinary databases - Include both popular and scholarly sources on a wide range of topics. Consider trying the multidisciplinary database Academic Search Complete as a place to get started with a research project.
Subject-specific databases - Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline. See the Databases @ Emory list to get a sense of what subject-specific databases are available to you.

We also have databases that can help you locate sources like videos, images, data sets, data visualizations, primary sources, newspapers, interviews, etc.

Google Scholar is also a great place to search for articles. Use these directions to ensure that you can both find and access material from Google Scholar at the Emory Libraries.

What is a database?

Video created by RMIT University