Your research for faculty will probably require that you use Westlaw and Lexis. But you may need additional databases for specialized legal, historical, interdisciplinary, and international research. These databases in MacMillan Law Library’s subscriptions offer additional content, including primary materials, secondary sources, current awareness, case and statutory background, additional subject areas in law, historical materials, and foreign and international law.
You can find the complete list of law library databases by subject and alphabetically. Woodruff Library has its own extensive list of databases that you can search, or find by subject or alphabetically.
Hein Online provides libraries of legal materials, including primary materials and law reviews, in PDF format, with most collections including older, historical documents.
Features include:
Use for:
Bloomberg Law requires an individual password, which you can register for here. Click "Register an Academic Account" at the top of the page and use your @emory.edu email address to request an account. Bloomberg will then validate you are indeed with Emory Law, then will send you an Emory Law-based Bloomberg Law password. This verification process can take anywhere from 15 minutes to 24 hours. Once you receive your Emory Law credentials, you will have access to Bloomberg Law so long as you remain at Emory Law.
Bloomberg Law includes primary and secondary legal resources, company and market information and news, and legal newsletters and portfolios.
Features include:
Use for:
VitalLaw (formerly CCH Cheetah) requires registration for an individual password. It includes libraries of primary and secondary legal publications and legal news for research in antitrust, banking, bankruptcy, healthcare, intellectual property, products liability, and securities.
Features include:
Use for:
ProQuest Legislative Insight and ProQuest Congressional provide compiled legislative histories and legislative history documents.
Features include:
Use for:
The law library has numerous foreign and international law databases to help you find the law of other countries, international law documents such as treaties, and secondary sources for background and citations.
Foreign Law Guide describes legal systems and resources for other countries and includes citations and some links to major foreign statutes by topic. Includes English language translations where available.
Getting the Deal Through: Q&A articles on the law of other countries in commercial subjects including intellectual property, corporate, banking, tax, and white collar crime, with citations to applicable statutes. Includes a Compare tool for comparing questions between jurisdictions. The most current version on Lexology is only available in the law school, but Getting the Deal Through is also available on Lexis and Bloomberg Law, although they offer fewer subject areas than the primary version on Lexology.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law and Oxford Constitutions of the World: Constitutions of other countries in English and original versions, including historical constitutions, plus articles on constitutional law of other countries and comparison of constitutions by topic.
vLex Global includes primary and secondary legal materials, including official gazettes, codes, court judgments, and newspapers, from Latin America and some European countries.
ChinaLawInfo, SCC Online (India), and ICLR (United Kingdom): Primary law of other countries.
Oxford Reports on International Law includes caselaw on public international law from international and domestic courts.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is a secondary source on international law on the Oxford Law platform. It includes detailed articles on topics in international law, with citations to primary resources and related secondary material.
Transnational Dispute Management: Journal and primary documents on international alternative dispute management and commercial arbitration.
While working for professors, you may need to find articles in fields other than law. Use Databases @ Emory to find Emory's databases by subject or by type of database. Or try these databases for searching for articles in multiple subject areas.
JSTOR: Full-text, pdf journals, including older volumes. Disciplines include Feminist & Women's Studies, International Relations, Public Health, Public Policy, Economics, Psychology, Criminology & Criminal Justice, History, and Statistics.
Academic Search Complete: Multi-disciplinary database of full-text scholarly journals, periodicals, and newspapers. Searchable by full-text and fields. You can limit your search by publication type, document type (article, interview), or limited to images. Many articles are available in PDF.
Business Source Complete: Database of full-text business and scholarly journals in marketing, accounting, finance, and economics. Includes company profiles, industry profiles, and market research reports. You can limit your search by publication type, company, or ticker symbol.
Emory Library Search: The catalog for the Emory libraries is also a database for searching articles in multiple campus databases. Log in first as an Emory user to get access to journal databases. Use the link to Articles+, search, then refine your search results by resource type, subject, or collection. Results will include links to the articles in campus databases.
You may need newspapers in your research, for finding recent and unpublished trial-level cases, historical information, op-eds, and information on state and local legislation.
Databases with current and modern newspaper content:
Historical newspapers (1980s and earlier):
Other newspaper databases at Emory:
Woodruff Library has a Research Guide to finding newspapers in databases available at Emory.
Professors may want you to find data for their empirical and quantitative research. These collections have court, economic, demographic, and other data.
Administrative Office of the Courts: Analysis & Reports: Federal Court Management Statistics, including caseloads and filings; Judicial Business of the US Courts, with tables of filings, appeals, and judicial vacancies; Judicial Facts and Figures; Federal Judicial Caseload Statistics; and Statistical Tables for the Federal Judiciary.
Hein Online's Congress and the Courts Library: Federal Court Management Statistics 1971 to latest (District Courts and Courts of Appeal) and Report of the Proceedings of the Judicial Conference of the United States 1940 to latest (including tables of caseloads and other court data).
National Center for State Courts: Court Statistics Project. Caseload data from the courts of the 50 states, DC, and Puerto Rico. Civil court data includes caseloads, clearance rates, tort caseloads, and medical malpractice caseloads.
Proquest Statistical Insight : Search statistical publications from federal agencies, states, IGOs, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, and research organizations.
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Labor statistics, price indexes, earnings and benefits statistics, and employment numbers.
Census Data: Data from the census, American Community Survey, and the Economic Census, with datasets, tables, fact sheets, reference maps, surveys and estimates.
Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition: Statistical tables on population, employment, income, and government from the colonial era to 2000.
UN Data: World data compiled by the United Nations on population, education, trade, and other subjects. The UN Statistics Division also has data available by topic, and statistical publications.
Emory Guide to Data Resources and Support: Robert O'Reilly's guide to Emory data sets and resources available at Emory, with resources under tabs including Courts and Criminal Justice, Economics, Environment, Health, and International Relations.
