How to Find: Articles
Click on the tabs in this section for a quick how-to on when and how to access both general multidisciplinary research databases and subject-specific databases.
START HERE: Watch the short tutorial video on the right to learn some quick tips and steps for searching the library's research databases. 
NEXT: Click on the tab Journal Articles
Journal Articles
General databases are research databases that contain materials (articles, data sets, images, charts, and more) from a wide variety of publications that cover many different disciplines. Start here when searching for academic articles.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of economics-related literature. Includes indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, and covers both economic theory and application.
- The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new windowContents related to health and social care sourced from a variety of journals and countries from 1987 to the present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
NEXT: Click on the tab News Articles
News Articles- Economist.com This link opens in a new windowDesktop access to The Economist magazine's weekly print edition and additional content, including special reports, unique to the Economist.com website.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowSearch a large collection of publications and websites in a variety of languages. Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal.
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
- New York Times SubscriptionEmory students, faculty, and staff have continuous access to the digital version of The New York Times and its online content, including archives and blogs.
Working Papers
Click The National Bureau of Economics Research defines working papers as "intended to make research available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before publication." Working papers are extremely important in Economics research.
It's a good idea to check authors' websites, or one of the article databases such as EconLit, to determine if articles that began as working papers have now been published.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new windowAccess NBER working papers since 1994, plus indexing and abstracts for earlier papers.
- Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) This link opens in a new windowContains all CEPR Discussion Papers (working papers) from 1999 to present, and additional abstracts, and the Centre's Policy Papers.
- IMF Working PapersIMF Working Papers (WPs) are designed to make IMF staff research available to a wide audience. Nearly 300 working papers are released each year, covering a range of theoretical and analytical topics.