Databases - ENG 789 | AAS485 Early Black Print Culture (Main) - Research Guides at Emory University Libraries

Black Print Culture Databases

As the Oxford Bibliography for Black Print Culture points out, most online databases require institutional access and are based on print bibliographies. For instance, several collections from the publisher Readex including African American Newspapers Series 1 and Series 2 and African American Periodicals are based upon the comprehensive Danky Bibliography. Black Authors, also from Readex, is based on the Library Company of Philadelphia Catalog of Afro-American Imprints.

African-American Newspapers: 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Historical African American newspapers from the 19th century.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Series 1 of 2. African American Newspapers published in the US from 1827-1998.
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 This link opens in a new window
Contains African American newspapers published in the United States from 1835-1956. Complements the database African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Access periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, and more.
Black Authors, Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia (1556-1922) This link opens in a new window
Access works by authors of African or African-American descent. A subset of the Afro-American Imprints.
Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window
Collection of documents written by black men and women involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830-1865.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Contains published and unpublished non-fiction writings by black American authors.
Black Drama This link opens in a new window
Access plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by authors from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
ProQuest African American Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains a handful of pre-20th century papers including the Baltimore Afro-American.