Key Article Databases
-
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)Access the Hispanic American Periodicals Index for journal article citations about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
-
Handbook of Latin American StudiesA selective bibliography on Latin America. Indexes journals, books and book chapters, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities.
-
Historical Abstracts [EBSCOhost]Access scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.
-
DIALNET This link opens in a new windowAccess an index of tables of contentsfrom the Universidad de La Rioja that provides citations for journals published in Spain. Includes journals with Latin American content. Searching must be done in Spanish.
Full Text Article Databases
Great sources to find articles with full text. But remember you are literally searching billions of pages for the term/s you enter in the search box. Don't be surprised if some results have nothing to do with topic you are researching.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowIncludes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
-
RedalycOpen access full text service offering articles from a number of Latin American journals (especially Mexico) from the Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico. Orientation is to the physical and natural sciences.
-
La ReferenciaLA Referencia gives visibility to the scientific production of higher education and research institutions in Latin America, promotes open and free access to the full text, with special emphasis on publicly financed results
Getting the Full Text of Articles
When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the full-text of the article, there are 5 possible scenarios you could face.
Scenario 1: The full-text is available in the database you are searching. EASY! Just click the full-text link.
Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button 
leads you to the full-text in another database. There are two steps in this process:
- Click the Find it @ Emory button.
- Click on the link to the resource that is listed after "Full text available at:"
Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the full-text, but the Libraries own the print copy of the journal.
- Search the journal title in Library Search. You can limit your search using "Journals" in the drop-down below the search box.
- When you find the record for the journal, click the "Locate/Request Item" tab to see what volumes we have.
- If you find your volume and it's located in the library you are in, you can use the call number to find the volume in the bookstacks.
- If you find your volume and it's located at a different library or the Library Service Center, you can request the volume if you log in to Library Search (use "Log In" at top right of Library Search). Another option is to request just the article you need using the "Request Article or Chapter" tab in discoverE -- if available. This will give you the option of getting the article scanned for you.
Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can request it using our Interlibrary Loan service. (Click the "Locate/Request Item" tab and then "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to have the request form pre-filled for you.)
Scenario 5: If you are using Google Scholar and there is no full text link - search the TITLE OF THE JOURNAL or the Book Title in the Library Search Catalog to see if Emory has the journal or book available as a paper copy or electronically.