Skip to Main Content

AFS 270|HIST 285: Introduction to African History

Newspapers

Digital Archives (Emory-Licensed)

Non-Emory Digital Archives

Endangered Archives Programme: History of Bolama, the first capital of Portuguese Guinea (1879-1941), as reflected in the Guinean National Historical Archives (EAP266)

Europeana Newspapers: "Explore the headlines, articles, advertisements, and opinion pieces from European newspapers from 20 countries, dating from 1618 to the 1980s."

University of Washington Lists of Digital Resources: A comprehensive Research Guide divided up by region of primary sources. 

Photographs, Postcards, & Images

Africa Through a Lens: "Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history, from the 1860s onwards, taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection (CO 1069). The full collection can be seen on Flickr, where you can add comments and tags."

African South of the Sahara: List of websites with African photographs. Divided by Historical and Contemporary

Africana Historic Postcard Collection:"The African Section of the Library of Congress’ African and Middle Eastern Division has amassed a unique collection of more than 2000 historical photographic postcards documenting an important visual record of Africa and its people during the historically intensive years of European colonialism, from 1895 to 1960."

British Library Images Online

Images of Colonialism (Harvard University): "These late-19th- and early-20th-century trade cards and illustrations offer insight into European perspectives on the colonial experience."

Ross Archive of African Images (Yale University)

Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African Diaspora

Winterton Collection of East African Photographs

Maps

Afriterra: "This resource is achieved by cataloging, digitizing, and displaying more than 5,000 of the rarest historical maps focused on Africa. The content spans over 500 years, covering all regions and scales, in 8 different languages, by 3000 unique creators."

Gallica (Bibliothèque Nationale de France): Africa in Maps: "Explore from this page all the maps of Africa and its territories available on Gallica via three modes of access: national maps by current or former country, general maps by century, and the map of Africa by Lannoy de Bissy."

16th-Early 20th Century Maps of Africa: Herskovits Library of African Studies. "This collection features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century."

Image Databases

Google Advanced Book Search

undefined

Google Advanced Book Search

  • You can find entire books for download that are out of copyright. 
  • A great resource for finding books written during the historical time period you are interested in. 

Streaming Video