Skip to Main Content
Emory University Emory Libraries

EndNote

Reference Management Program

Set Preferences Windows & Macs

Windows

  • Goto EndNote's Preferences, located under the Edit menu.
  • When the EndNote Preferemces window opens, make sure that a;; 4 bpxes related to the Find Full Text are checked.
  • Two URLs need to be added to the preferences box.
    • The OPEN URL PATH (which allows EndNote to find the full text from the reference) should be:  http://emory-primoprod.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01EMORY/01EMORY_services_page?
    • The Authentication with URL is: http://proxy.library.emory.edu/login?url=

Here’s what it looks like:

 

Macs

  • Go to EndNote 21 menu and go to Settings.  The EndNote Preferences window will open.
  • Click on Find Full Text option
  • Check that all 4 of the boxes related to the Find Full Text are checked.
  • Two URLs need to be added to the preferences box:
    • The OPEN URL PATH (which allows EndNote to find the full text from the reference) should be:  http://emory-primoprod.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01EMORY/01EMORY_services_page?
    • The AUTHENTICATE WITH URL (which allows you to authenticate as an Emory faculty/staff/student and thus get access to Emory-paid resources) should be: http://proxy.library.emory.edu/login?url=

 

Find Full Text in Existing Records

If you want to find the full text of existing records in your EndNote library, after you have configured the find full text settings, select/highlight the references you wish to retrieve the fulll text.  Then go to References/Find Full Text/Authenticate. After logging in with your University NetID and password, go back to the References menu and select Find Full Text as indicated below: