Microfilm
Image: Reel of 25 mm. Microfilm. History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library University of Illinois byVesihiisi from Wikimedia Commons.
Finding Microfilms
- How do I find Microforms?An excellent overview provided by the University of Chicago Library.
- ScanPro Microfilm Scanner"An informative demonstration of the ScanPro Microfilm Scanner. ScanPro’s cutting edge technology allows you to scan all of your microforms-fiche, roll film, cartridge film, aperture cards and other formats with one machine."
- Auto-scan FunctionInformation provided by the University of Chicago Library.
How do I find printed microfilm guides?
Emory's microfilm guides are located on the main floor of the Robert W. Woodruff Library next to the back stairwell.
- discoverEPrinted guides owned by Emory are often indexed under the term "microguide." So, to find out whether the microfilm collection that you are working with has a guide, search for microguide in discoverE.
- WorldcatYou can also search for microfilm guides to collections that Emory does not own in Worldcat. Here, they are indexed under many different names including "microfilm guide," "microfilm collection guide," or "microfilm index."
How do I find digitized guides?
Vendor Portals
Many microfilm vendors have digitized their print guides and made them searchable, but they can be hard to find. Here are several lists of guides from major vendors of historical materials, Gale, Proquest and Adam Matthew.
HathiTrust
Some finding aids are unavailable digitally; however, you may still be able to search them. HathiTrust provides searchable access to guides. Here's an example from the Papers from the John F. Kennedy assassination records collection at the National Archives:
