Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

ANT285-3: Hormones and Human Social Behavior

Dr. Daniel Coppeto, Spring 2021

Call Numbers and Browsing the Collection

There is no easy way to browse anthropology books on the library shelves. General books on anthropology are in the call number range "GN". However, most anthropology books are scattered across the collection. For example, anthropological ethnographies are classified with the books about the country/region of the culture (e.g. Africa in "DT"; Asia, "DS"; Latin America, "F") and books from the four fields of anthropology could be scattered in almost any call number depending on the subject. Therefore, to find books on an anthropological subject it is often best to search the library's catalog or another database, such as WorldCat, and you may need to browse multiple areas of the stacks.

Finding Books and Films

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences, McMillan Law, Science Commons, and Oxford libraries.

Click here to browse a list of ethnographic films held by Emory Libraries. There many anthropologically relevant films that are not considered ethnographic so try a few other searches or contact the librarian if you can't find what you need.

Beyond Emory

We try to provide everything you need for your research, but no library can do it all. If you find something that we don't have, we'll get it for you from another library using interlibrary loan, or contact the Anthropology Librarian for additional help.

Tozzer Library
One of the great anthropology collections is at Harvard University in the Tozzer Library. The library collects comprehensively in all four subfields of anthropology and covers a broad geographic range with special emphasis on indigenous peoples of the Americas. Tozzer Library is also renowned for their collections of primary sources and other rare materials (e.g. Maya language materials, Spanish Colonial documents, and field notes).

Worldcat
This catalog searches the collections of more than 9,000 member institutions, including most of the major libraries in North America, and many in Western Europe and Australia. If you can't find what you're looking for at Emory or in the Tozzer Library at Harvard, this is a great place to look.

DVDs and Streaming Media

Emory also owns many DVDs related to anthropology. These are included in discoverE, but may be difficult to identify. Contact the Anthropology Librarian if you need help identifying films on your topic.