Find Articles at the Emory Libraries - ENG 345/AFS 389 - Writing Independence in Africa - Research Guides at Emory University Libraries

Databases for Your Class

The following databases are recommended for your class.

Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
Access multidisciplinary bibliographic databases from around the world. Produced by NCIS South Africa, materials focus on Africa and African studies.
Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984. Emphasis on English language materials.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Contains material for black studies including essays, periodicals, reference books, the Schomburg Studies, and more.
Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP), and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper. The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Contains resources for the study and teaching of literature in English. Access a large collection of literary works, criticism, and reference resources. Includes poetry, drama, prose fiction, and more.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.

Types of Databases

The Emory Libraries have a large number of databases that can help you with your research. You can search in two different types of databases.

Multidisciplinary databases - Include both popular and scholarly sources on a wide range of topics. Consider trying the multidisciplinary database Academic Search Complete as a place to get started with a research project.
Subject-specific databases - Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline. See the Databases @ Emory list to get a sense of what subject-specific databases are available to you.

We also have databases that can help you locate sources like videos, images, data sets, data visualizations, primary sources, newspapers, interviews, etc.

Google Scholar is also a great place to search for articles. Use these directions to ensure that you can both find and access material from Google Scholar at the Emory Libraries.