Research Guides: MDP 507 Interdisciplinary Field Seminar I: Finding Relevant Articles

General Academic Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.

Social Science Databases

Public Affairs Information Service Index (PAIS) This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences from 1915 onward.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952-present.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, edited books, and essays in anthropology, archeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Access full-text publications from the American Anthropological Association including journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.

Food Security

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of agricultural literature created by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Themes range widely across agriculture and allied disciplines.
CAB Direct This link opens in a new window
Produced by CABI, this search includes CAB Abstracts and Global Health databases. CAB Abstracts is for agriculture, veterinary science, food science, environmental science, and nutrition. Global Health covers international public health with publications in various languages and publication types, including grey literature, journals, and conferences.
Five (5) simultaneous users.
ELDIS Gateway to Development Information This link opens in a new window
Access resources for global development research. Includes reports, papers, case studies, policy briefings, and more. Includes selected materials for development practitioners, and wide ranging country profiles.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Access material related to environmental studies. Major fields include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, geography, and more.

Democratization

Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. The most popular HeinOnline libraries include the Law Journal Library, the Session Laws Library, and the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, with exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). This is the major index for political science.
Public Affairs Information Service Index (PAIS) This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences from 1915 onward.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Contents related to health and social care sourced from a variety of journals and countries from 1987 to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.

Public Health & Medicine Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Access international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present, fully indexed.
CAB Direct This link opens in a new window
Produced by CABI, this search includes CAB Abstracts and Global Health databases. CAB Abstracts is for agriculture, veterinary science, food science, environmental science, and nutrition. Global Health covers international public health with publications in various languages and publication types, including grey literature, journals, and conferences.
Five (5) simultaneous users.

Grey Literature

Grey literature refers to materials and research produced by organizations like NGOs and think tanks that are outside of traditional academic publications like scholarly journal articles and books. These materials are not peer reviewed.

Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
For Access: Users must create an account on the platform to access content.

Policy Commons preserves and provides access to more curated policy reports and briefs, analyses, working papers, books, case studies, tables, charts, media, and statistical publications from policy organizations (NGOs, IGOs, foundations, government, think tanks, agencies, etc.) from around the world.
ELDIS Gateway to Development Information This link opens in a new window
Access resources for global development research. Includes reports, papers, case studies, policy briefings, and more. Includes selected materials for development practitioners, and wide ranging country profiles.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Access the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development`s books, papers, studies, periodicals, and statistics.
UN iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The United Nations iLibrary is the first comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. The UN iLibrary currently consists of publications regarding human rights, climate change, economic and social development, international peace and security, international law, and public health.
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) This link opens in a new window
The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
WHOLIS This link opens in a new window
Indexes World Health Organization publications, including articles, journals, and technical documents.

Key Development Journals

Below is a list of some important development journals. If you are interested in journal rankings, impact factor and acceptance rates, you can find yearly lists.