Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

HIST | AMST 285 History of HIV/AIDS in the US

Special Collections on HIV/AIDS

The collections in Emory's Rose Library include personal papers and organizational records that chronicle the HIV/AIDS crisis in Atlanta. These collections contain the mug shots and citations of activists from ACT UP; drafts fo the first play written about the epidemic, "Warren." evidence of how Atlanta's LGBTQ community and allied created a network of service organizations, and ephemera from funeral services. 

Selected Collections

This section includes a small selection of archives available at the Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library. To view a more detailed collection description, click on each title and link to their full finding aid.

Billy Howard Photographs, 1987-2016

This collection consists of photographs, press clippings, correspondence, subject files, negatives and audiovisual material primarily related to Howard's project, Epitaphs of the Living, dating from 1987-2016.

Rebecca Ranson Papers, 1906-2013 

The collection consists of the papers of Rebecca Ranson including writings, correspondence, journals, subject files, printed material, photographs, audiovisual material, and born digital material that document her career as a playwright, author, and activist.

David A. Lowe Papers, 1988-1992

The collection contains papers of David A. Lowe from 1988-1992, including correspondence, newspaper clippings, journals, and subject files concerning demonstrations and the Act-Up organization.

Bruce Garner papers, circa 1980-2000

The collection consists of the papers of Bruce Garner from circa 1980-2000 and includes subject files, printed material, and audiovisual material. The collection primarily documents Garner's HIV/AIDS activism, including his work on the State of Georgia Task Force on AIDS.

Jesse R. Peel papers, 1956-2005

The collection consists of the personal papers of Dr. Jesse R. Peel from 1956-2012, including correspondence; journals and appointment books; galley proofs of his memoir, Camp Merton Chronicles; subject files; photographs and albums; scrapbooks; and audiovisual material.