Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

ECON, MESAS & AAS385 Political Economy of Violence and Nonviolence (Main)

Recommended Databases

Middle East & Africa Database (MIDA) 

The Middle East and Africa Database (MIDA) is a bibliographic and fulltext database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America.

Index Islamicus

Contains material related to the Middle East and other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Draws resources from many journals, as well as conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

Political Science Complete

 Political Science Complete contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). The database also features 330 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 35,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. 

Social Sciences Abstracts (1983-present)  

Indexes core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

Contents related to health and social care sourced from a variety of journals and countries from 1987 to the present.

PAIS International

Includes bibliographic records from the literature of public policy, social policy and the social sciences. Types of publications indexed include books, periodicals and selected local, state, national and international government documents.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa 

The Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.

Al-Manhal

Al-Manhal provides 4 types of cross-searchable products (ebooks, Peer-reviewed Journals, Theses & Dissertations, and Middle East Strategic Online Reports) on the same platform, and the content is available in multiple languages including Arabic, English, French and some other languages.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) 

Contains publications on foreign policy and international relations since 1991.

World Bank eLibrary 

The World Bank eLibrary is a collection of the World Bank’s numerous publications, reports, working papers and other related documents. All texts are searchable by both topic and region, and available in full-text. Currently, over 4,500 documents are indexed in the database. The World Bank’s areas of focus include economic and social development, education, environmental issues, health, and finance.