Shakespeare Resources - Discovery Seminar - Shakespeare & Music - Archetto

Background Information - Shakespeare

You can use encyclopedias, general and biographical dictionaries, and other reference sources to find background information on your topic of interest. Start by exploring these resources.

Literature Resource Center
Provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers novelists, essayists, poets, journalists, and more.
Credo Reference Unlimited
Contains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Oxford Reference Online
Content of 300+ books published by Oxford University Press.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.

Streaming Videos - Shakespeare

If you're looking for streaming films or videos of Shakespeare's plays, try these databases.

BBC Shakespeare Plays
Access streaming versions of the BBC Shakespeare Plays, a joint production of the BBC and Time-Life Television officially known as The BBC Television Shakespeare. 37 plays in total, broadcast over seven seasons from 1979 to 1985.

MIT Global Video & Performance Archive
The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.

Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theater+ contains streaming video recordings of live productions from a number of performing arts companies primarily in the U.K., including the Royal Shakespeare Company and Glyndebourne, as well as interviews with practitioners and critical essays.
Naxos Video Library
Stream a wide variety of performances, including opera, classical music, ballet, live concerts, and more.
Kanopy
Kanopy offers thousands of streaming videos on all subjects from a wide range of suppliers.

Highlights include PBS, the Criterion Collection/Janus Films, independent film distributors such as Kino Lorber, educational documentary suppliers such as California Newsreel and Media Education Foundation, and and a robust collection of ethnographic/anthropological documentaries.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries.

Emory's subscription spans a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. AVON replaces Emory's subscriptions to America History and Video, World History and Video, and Alexander Street Press ethnography collections.

Scholarly Articles - Shakespeare

If you need to find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles on Shakespearean scholarship, try these databases.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
JSTOR
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines. Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Literature Criticism Online
Access Gale`s various literature resources in a single location. Includes reprinted critical essays on literary topics, poems, stories, novels, and more.
Literature Online
Contains resources for the study and teaching of literature in English. Access a large collection of literary works, criticism, and reference resources. Includes poetry, drama, prose fiction, and more.