Research Guides: HIST 361/PORT 385 : Brazil Country of the Future: Other Emory Primary Sources

Rose Library Brazil Primary Sources

T. Crawford McDowell Diary
The collection consists of a diary of T. Crawford McDowell from March 9 - August 1, 1849. The diary documents McDowell's voyage from Baltimore (Maryland) to Brazil following his appointment as U.S. Consul to Bahia de San Salvador, Brazil. The diary also describes the influence of the Catholic Church in Brazil, the African slaves, and his own feelings about slavery.
Americana (Brazil) Oral History Project collection
The Americana (Brazil) Oral History Project collection includes transcripts of interviews, audiocassette and reel-to-reel recordings of interviews, photographs and slides, genealogical charts, clippings, printed material, and collected material relating to the ancestors of Confederate exiles in Americana, Brazil.

Primary Sources in Library Search

Use Library Search to find secondary sources (Books and journals) as well as published primary sources in Emory's libraries, including:

Published books that contain primary source documents
U.S. government documents
Primary source collections in microfilm or microfiche format

Look for works by individuals, associations, or other groups directly involved with the topic you are researching by searching for their names as AUTHORS.

Try adding one or more of the following search terms to your search:

Put in your topic keyword and search one of the following terms as a subject:

sources
archives
correspondence
interviews
notebooks
diaries

documents
personal narratives
speeches
writings
fiction

reports
pictorial works
songs and music
cases
case studies

Hathi Trust

HathiTrust
Access a large digital library of materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Also contains a number of primary sources.