Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Oxford College Online Library Orientation

The Oxford College Library Website is your pathway to thousands of resources the Emory University Libraries have to offer.  Start by looking below at the screenshot tour of the Oxford Library website homepage.  Once you feel familiar with the information, go to our website, dive in and start experimenting with the resources. Test what you've learned by taking the quiz before heading on to the next section. You will need to take all the quizzes to get your Orientation points!

Getting Started - Be Sure to Click All Four Tabs

undefined

1. discoverE is the name of Emory's library catalog. Use this to start searching for books, (though it does do more than that.)  See the next tab for more info. :)
2. Databases: Search for articles in our databases
3. Ejournals: Search for a specific journal, newspaper, or magazine. If we have it, this tool will tell you where and give you a link to find it. Great for looking up citations!
4. eBooks, Films, Games: Go to this page to learn how to access OverDrive, our external ebook vendor for non-textbook titles (more like leisure reading). Also see a list of the streaming film sites Emory subscribes to. Unfortunately, during Covid-19 we are not loaning Board Games
5. Research Subject Guides: See which specific databases/books and other resources librarians recommend for your subject

6. Course Reserves: If your professor has placed an electronic reserve (e-reserve) online for your course, or if a book or other physical item is on reserve behind the library desk, you can search for it here.
7. ILL/Interlibrary Loan: Order books or articles from other libraries outside of the Emory system (this is a free service). See the "Getting Books" tab on the left for more details.
8. Schedule Research Help: Set up a time for one-on-one help with a librarian, you can also email us or Chat Live right now from our HomePage - look for this Box!

undefined
9. Online Newspaper Digital Access: Click on this tab to set up your free New York Times or Wall Street Journal access
10. As an Emory student you can take tutorials for free from LinkedIn Learning!

discoverE on the library homepage is the library catalog. It searches across a wide variety of resources, including our physical items, electronic resources and many of our databases. discoverE serves as the library catalog for all of the Emory libraries and is the primary way to search for books, eBooks, music, videos, and other items. 

discoverE is a great place to start looking for articles and books on a topic, but for powerful, targeted searches that use subject headings or a controlled vocabulary, try a database specific to your discipline or topic.

ALWAYS SIGN IN! Signing in gives you more complete results, the ability to request items, and the best access to available online resources. The sign-in button is on the upper right of the discoverE banner.

Getting Started with discoverE:

Sign in at the top of the page!  Use your net ID (jdoe) and password

undefinedundefined

Research guides are librarian-created guides for the best places to go to research your subject. It's a great place to find out what databases are most useful!  The button below opens a list of guides. Subject guides provide a collection of resources for that discipline. The librarian who created the guide is also an excellent resource. 

Research Subject Guides Button

 

This is what a subject guide looks like: 

undefined

There are many ways to get in touch with us from our Home Page.

The Need Help? Ask a Librarian! chat service is available live Mon-Thur 8am-8pm, Fri 8am-5pm, Sun 11am-8pm. You can also text a question to (770) 415-8963.

The Booking Portal button sends you to an easy place to schedule an appointment with a librarian for some in-depth one-on-one help. A librarian will meet with you via Zoom video conference with screen-sharing capability. 

Contact Us! is a great way to type on a form a lengthier question or request to the library staff, and also provides you an email to reach the library staff directly via your email.

undefined

 

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Get Your Hands Dirty!

  1. Find the library hours and our contact information on the library home page.
  2. Pick a broad topic (like childhood or bipolar or shoes) and search for that term using discoverE. Try a few of the options on the left side of the screen to refine your search topic and/or limit your results to just books or just articles.
  3. Locate Emory’s Databases and find a database that might be relevant to your area of study.
  4. Find a Research Guide that interests you. Look at the contents under each tab in that Guide.