Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

AFS 190|HIST 190: Images of Africa

Posters

Posters from the Herskovits Library: Northwestern University collection."These posters represent a sampling (approximately 600) of our growing collection of over 4000 Africana posters housed at the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies. The subjects covered here include politics, health, religion, liberation struggles, art exhibitions, and social issues."

Photographs & Postcards

Africa Through a Lens: "Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history, from the 1860s onwards, taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection (CO 1069). The full collection can be seen on Flickr, where you can add comments and tags."

Afripedia: "Afripedia is a platform that aims to change the narrative within the global creative community by highlighting talent of African descent. A curated database where African creatives worldwide can connect with each other and clients. Creating collaborations, opportunities, and relatable role models to inspire the next generation of creatives."

British Library Images Online

African South of the Sahara: List of websites with African photographs. Divided by Historical and Contemporary

Africana Historic Postcard Collection:"The African Section of the Library of Congress’ African and Middle Eastern Division has amassed a unique collection of more than 2000 historical photographic postcards documenting an important visual record of Africa and its people during the historically intensive years of European colonialism, from 1895 to 1960."

Colonialism and the African Diaspora in Postcards (University of Cologne): Provides access to digital materials from the University of Cologne's collection.

The Humhprey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1880-1960: "The collection depicts the breadth of African experience; documents African life; European life in Africa in all its manifestations; and the African landscape, in particular as it changed over time. Included are photographs showing the building of East Africa’s railways, the growth of its urban centers and the development of European colonial administration. There are outstanding examples of portraiture."

Images of Colonialism (Harvard University): "Made up largely of late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers, this collection offers insight into European perspectives on varying aspects of colonial experience by documenting how popular perceptions of Asia and Africa were created and disseminated.The collection can also be used to draw contrasts between colonial attitudes among the French, British, German, and Dutch colonizers and the realities in the colonies."

 

Maps

Afriterra: "This resource is achieved by cataloging, digitizing, and displaying more than 5,000 of the rarest historical maps focused on Africa. The content spans over 500 years, covering all regions and scales, in 8 different languages, by 3000 unique creators."

Gallica (Bibliothèque Nationale de France): Africa in Maps: "Explore from this page all the maps of Africa and its territories available on Gallica via three modes of access: national maps by current or former country, general maps by century, and the map of Africa by Lannoy de Bissy."

16th-Early 20th Century Maps of Africa: Herskovits Library of African Studies. "This collection features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century."

Video

Colonial Film: Moving Images of the British Empire: "This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies."

Image Databases