Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

COVID-19: Teaching Anthropology Remotely, Digital Content

Suggestions for finding anthropologically relevant digital content

Digital Text

Tips for finding e-books and full-text materials:

  • In discoverE, include “electronic resource” with the quotes in your search.
  • In databases, limit your search to full text. Note that our full text access varies across the databases.
  • HathiTrust is a repository of millions of digitized academic titles. Log in to access digitized copies of books Emory owns in print.
  • Several university presses and other vendors have temporarily opened their electronic access. These titles will not be listed in discoverE so check the Vendor Offers list for updates, visit university publisher sites, or some of the links below.
    • Project Muse - So far this includes, Johns Hopkins, Ohio State, Nebraska, North Carolina, Temple, and Vanderbilt. More UPs may be announced.
    • University Press of Michigan
    • JStor has many university press titles can be found here also. Some overlapping content with Project Muse.
    • Safari, primarily technical and computer science content
  • Contact Lori Jahnke for additional help and for purchase requests. We are working on expanding e-book collections and existing licenses so expect changes.

Accessing the physical collection:

  • HathiTrust is a repository of millions of digitized academic titles. Log in to access digitized copies of books Emory owns in print.
  • Electronic document delivery is available for faculty, grad students, staff, and undergraduates (detailed instructions). Library staff will scan a book chapter or article in a physical volume.
  • Retrieval of physical volumes is being evaluated as the situation develops so continue to place requests and you will be notified of changes.

Interlibrary Loan

  • ILL services currently continue for electronic materials but there is no more lending of physical items. Many libraries have closed their ILL departments for the interim so it might not be possible to get materials. Place requests and you will be notified of changes.

Anthropology Specifically

E-journals

  • Access to electronic journals will continue in the usual fashion and some content may be expanded.
  • Oxford University Press is offering free access to resources on coronavirus and related topics.
  • Use Electronic document delivery for an article in an Emory-owned physical journal. Request through discoverE or ILL. 
  • Use ILL for non-Emory material. Note that there may be some delays due to shortages of student labor and closure of other libraries.