Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

HIST488 US Slavery and the Archive

Use to find materials related to slavery in the US.

Manuscript Collections at the Rose Library

The Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library holds a number of important collections documenting slavery in the United States. To find these collections go to the finding aids database and search for slave OR slavery. For an overview of these and other collections at Rose visit the Rose Library Literature Page

Student FAQs: Get all the answers to some of the most often asked questions related to student research Rose Library here.

Class Exercise, Finding Aids:

•Reid and Jordan Family Papers, 1767-1895 http://pid.emory.edu/ark:/25593/8zt8s
•Wanderer (Schooner) Records, 1838-1859 http://pid.emory.edu/ark:/25593/900p2,
•African American Miscellany Collection, 1848-2017 http://pid.emory.edu/ark:/25593/8xwxj
•Loula Kendall Rogers Papers, 1811-1974 http://pid.emory.edu/ark:/25593/8ztrq
•Hubert Family Plantation Diaries, 1853-1885 http://pid.emory.edu/ark:/25593/bs40b
•Sandy Creek Church (Jackson County) Records, 1832-1906 http://pid.emory.edu/ark:/25593/8zvb5

Finding Archives and Rare Books

Adapted from Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research by Laura Schmidt

Catalogs and Databases: Search WorldCat or check whether the archives that you are evaluating has a link on its website to catalogs or databases that allow you to search their holdings. Search holdings by keyword, subject, or title. Many of these catalogs will link you to finding aids (see below) which will provide more detail about what a specific collection holds.

Most libraries cataloged printed materials, like their cataloged manuscripts and archival collections can be found by searching the library's general catalog.

You may apply various limits (location, date, language, type of material) when searching. And you may also search by rare book collection, which is often reflected in the catalog record. For example:

Finding Aids: A finding aid (sometimes called inventory, collection listing, register, or calendar) is a document that describes of the contents of a collection.

1) If the archives you are evaluating provides direct access to finding aids on its website, browse or search the finding aids for content relating to your research. 

Some institutions have finding aids databases:

Emory Finding Aids Database

Atlanta History Center Finding Aids

2) Search for finding aids in google (use "finding aids") and the finding aid portals:

3) Check ArchiveGrid at http://www.archivegrid.org/web/index.jsp. This database contains nearly a million collection descriptions from thousands of libraries, archives, and museums (requires purchase or subscription).

Finding aids come in all kinds of formats. Some archives just have paper copies to use on-site, while others have word processing documents, PDF, or HTML/XML finding aids that can be viewed on their websites.