An ethnography is:
An ethnography is NOT:
Where are ethnographic monographs? Are they shelved in a specific place in the library?
Anthropology books about a certain region of the world are often classified with books on that region and NOT in the general anthropology call number (GN). Similarly, ethnographic monographs written about cultures/groups are classified with the books on that country (eg. Africa, DT) or subject (e.g. ethnographies about education will be in the education section).
If they aren't all together in the library, how can I find them?
1) DiscoverE - Finding ethnographies in the library catalog:
Ethnographies can be difficult to identify in the catalog because there is no specific subject heading for "ethnography". So, here are some tips for searching for them in discoverE:
2) Search the Anthropology Online database. This is a full-text database of published ethnographies from around the world.
3) Finding ethnographies using the Anthropology Plus database:
Ethnogaphy IS a subject heading in the Anthropology Plus database (which indexes journal articles, book chapters, etc...), so enter your subject terms and the word "ethnography" when you do your search.
Try searching the eHRAF World Cultures database. It includes over 100 full text ethnographies. To find ethnographies in eHRAF, from the home page, click on the BROWSE tab. On the page that displays click on the link to CULTURES and then use either the A-Z INDEX, REGIONS or COUNTRIES tabs to choose a culture group. Click on the culture group in which you are interested, then click on the tab that displays labeled COLLECTION DOCUMENTS. This is a list of ethnographies related to your culture group.