Portals to Primary Sources
Don't know where to start? Try one of the following database portals. They allow researchers to search across multiple databases produced by the same publisher or archives.
- Archive ExplorerPublisher: Adam Matthew
- ArtemisPublisher: Gale
- Archive ExplorerPublisher: Readex
- DP.LAPublisher: Archives and Libraries across the US
Primary Source Databases
The Library has a number of databases that contain primary source documenting the history of racial violence in America. Here's a list to get you started. It is strongly recommended, however, that you set up an appointment with your subject librarian, Erica Bruchko or Jennifer Elder for help navigating these databases and to identify additional collections.
African American Authored Periodicals and Newspapers
- African American Communities This link opens in a new windowContains primary source materials related to race relations and African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new windowAccess periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, and more.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowContains U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses. Searchable in English and Spanish, materials span from 1960 to the present.
- History Makers Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowLarge digital collection of full-length, searchable interviews featuring prominent African American artists, business leaders, scientists, athletes, and intellectuals.
- History Vault This link opens in a new windowAccess historical documents and digitized microfilm collections.
- ProQuest African American Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowBlack Newspapers provides a record of social change spanning almost a century. Covers major events to everyday life; includes newspapers such as Atlanta Daily World, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, and Pittsburgh Courier.
- World Newspaper Archive : African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new windowContains newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in various countries in Africa, including Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, and more.
Other Newspaper and Periodicals
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
- ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
Government Documents
- ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional Universe) This link opens in a new windowContains congressional publications, including congressional hearings.
Manuscript Collections at the Rose Library
The Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library holds a number of important collections documenting racial violence in the United States. A number of collections related to African American History and Culture also chronicle the racial violence against African Americans. For an overview of these and other collections at Rose visit the Rose Library Literature Page.