Our hours are:
Monday – Thursday, 8 am – 10 pm
Friday, 8 am – 7 pm
Saturday, 9 am – 7 pm
Sunday, 9 am – 10 pm
Do I need to make an appointment to come to the Library to study or use a computer?
Yes. Appointments are available for 2 hour blocks up to 3 times a day during library hours and must be booked online. Our usable space has been significantly reduced due to social distancing requirements and to ensure a safe environment must be more closely regulated.
For further assistance with appointments,
please contact Ask a Librarian or call our Information Desk at 404-727-8727.
What spaces are available to reserve?
Appointments may be made in 2 hour increments up to a maximum of 6 hours per day for the following activities:
|Activity||Maximum Duration||Advance Booking||Max. Days in Advance||Number Available|
(Table or seat)
|6 hours||12 hours||14||
Plaza Level: 19
Level 1: 33
(Includes 2 with specialized software on Plaza Level)
|6 hours||12 hours||14||
Plaza Level: 9
Level 1: 3
|Course Viewing Room||6 hours||12 hours||14||
Plaza Level: 9
How can I ask a research question?
We provide virtual reference and research services through Ask a Librarian, Monday to Friday, 8 am - 6 pm and Saturday and Sunday, 9 am - 6 pm. All queries will be routed to the appropriate person.
Can I meet with an informationist?
Yes! You may reach out to individual informationists or click the button below to schedule a consultation via Zoom.
For other WHSC Library staff please see our library directory.
Can I schedule a library instruction session for my students in the Fall?
Yes. To request library instruction to support a specific class or assignment, please contact us with details at Ask a Librarian. Your request will be directed to an informationist who will work with you.
Are there general library instruction sessions for the Fall?
Questions about PubMed, EndNote, Grey Literature, Systematic Reviews?
We also offer virtual Office Hours: See Calendar of Workshops & Open Classes for dates/times.
How do I access course reserves?
Faculty may make content available to their students through Course Reserves or may send requests to Ask a Librarian. Our informationists can assist you in finding online versions of physical books or replacement readings.
Students can access Course Reserves through the LITS website.
Will the Library offer print course reserves on site in the fall semester?
No, there will be no reserves due to coronavirus hygiene and sanitation issues.
Do I have access to eBooks?
Yes. Use the library catalog, discoverE, to search for eBooks. On the left-hand side of the results screen, you can select to show only "Full Access Online" or "eBooks." If you wish to limit a search just to eBooks, you can also use the Advanced Search and select material type: eBooks.
Where are the databases?
Can I access eJournals?
Yes. The eJournals A-Z list provides a list of all electronic journals licensed by Emory Libraries.
What's the easiest way to find full text articles?
There are several plug-ins available to the Emory community that make it easier to identify Emory digital resources.
Option 1. LibKey Nomad, for Chrome, Firefox, & Edge is a free plugin that helps you access articles. Once it has been installed, the LibKey icon pops up on pages for electronic articles that are available through Emory. Learn how to install the plug in: LibKey Nomad Installation.
Option 2. Another option is to install the Emory Proxy Resolver Bookmarklet for Chrome, Firefox & Safari. If an article web page suggests you need to pay for the article, use this bookmarklet to see if it's available for free through Emory. To install on your browser:
Option 3. If you use Google Scholar, turn on the the Emory holdings in Settings > Library Links.
Library stacks are closed, however physical items may be requested for contact-free pick up. To request an item, please follow these steps:
How can I get books or articles?
Current Emory students, faculty and staff may request electronic delivery of book chapters and journal articles from the Emory Libraries collection. Requests in compliance with fair use guidelines will be scanned and delivered as PDF files via your ILLiad library account.
Can I get Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) of non-Emory items?
Can I renew my books online?
Yes. Library materials owned by Emory Libraries may be renewed conveniently online by logging into your Emory Library account in discoverE with your NetID and password. View the “Loans” section to see a list of materials currently checked out to you. Simply select “Renew All” or renew individual titles as needed. You may also email Ask a Librarian for assistance with renewing items.
Is there an option to pick-up books without being on the RETURN TO CAMPUS list?
No. You must have completed the Fall 2020 Onboarding process.
Historical Collections currently provides remote research services to facilitate access to the collection (staff will examine or scan materials on your behalf). Beginning August 19, 2020, Historical Collections will be available for research by appointment only on Mondays and Tuesdays from 10am to 4pm.
To schedule an appointment or for any other queries, please contact Historical Collections staff via email at email@example.com.
How do I return books?
Due dates for materials currently on loan from any Emory library have been extended through September 1, 2020. All fines and late fees incurred between March 11th and September 1st will be waived.
Please email Ask a Librarian for further assistance.
What precautions are you taking to protect library users and staff and minimize risk of infection?
Who can I ask about copyright considerations?